Faculty of Basic Medical Sciences

About Faculty of Basic Medical Sciences

The Faculty of Basic Medical Sciences is one of the three Faculties in the College of Health Sciences, located along the Main Campus-University Teaching Hospital link Road. It comprises three departments, namely: Departments of Anatomy, Medical Biochemistry and Physiology. Though the Faculty does not graduate Medical students, it admits students into MB; BS Programme of the University and trains them in the pre-clinical aspects of their programme. In the same vein, the Department of Medical Biochemistry only trains students in MB;BS Anatomy and Physiology Programmes but does not admit students directly into the Department.


The Faculty of Basic Medical Sciences was established on 1st April, 2004 as one of the two faculties that made up the then College of Health Sciences; the faculty was carved out of the old Faculty of Health Sciences. At inception, the Faculty was made up of the following departments: Departments of Anatomy, Chemical Pathology and Immunology, Haematology and Blood Transfussion, Medical Microbiology and Parasitology, Pathology, Pharmacology and Physiology. Some of these Departments, with the exception of the ones mentioned in the preceding segment, now form the new Faculty of Basic Clinical Sciences and the third Faculty in the College. The Faculty has had six Deans including the currently Acting Dean. Find below the list of Deans in the Faculty since inception:

1. Prof. O. B. Okesina 2004- 2007
2. Prof. A. O. Soladoye 2007- 2011
3. Prof. C. N. B. Tegoe  2011 - 2012
4. Prof. A. A. Akande 2012 -2016
5. Prof. E. A. O. Afolayan 2016 -2020
6. Prof. L. A. Olatunji 2020-2021
7.Prof. O.B. Akinola 2021 to Date

The Faculty has three Departments as mentioned earlier, namely;

1. Department of Anatomy;

2. Department of Medical Biochemistry; and

3. Department of Physiology.

Faculty News & Updates

Important Dates

October 24, 2022

Resumption Of Final Year & Post Graduate Students

December 15, 2022

Commencement Of 2021/2022 Session