Department of Physiology

About Department of Physiology

History of Physiology Department
The Department of Physiology was established as far back as 1978. The undergraduate programme however did not commence until 1991/1992 academic session. Having received approval from the National Universities Commission (NUC) for the B.Sc. programmes in the Faculty of Health Sciences (now, College of Health Sciences), University of Ilorin, the Department of Physiology commenced the B.Sc. programme in Physiology during the aforementioned academic session. The programme started with the 100 level courses in the Faculty of Science (now split into, Faculty of Life Sciences and Faculty of Physical Sciences). The pioneering class completed the 200 level during the 1992/93 session but had to wait till 1997 before graduation. The delay was due to the nation-wide interruption of academic programmes following the industrial crisis of 1996 in Nigerian Universities. The Department also graduated a second set in 1998 (i.e. during the 1996/97 session). The B.Sc. programme runs parallel to the medical programme and it operates the course credit system.

The primary aim of starting the programme was to develop manpower for the teaching of Physiology as well as provide competent basic scientists for the research institutions and relevant industries.
The course was designed to provide an in-depth programme in all areas of Physiology with adequate exposure to Anatomy and Biochemistry courses. At the end of the programme, the students would have covered all aspects of Physiology. In addition, the student is expected to carry out a research project through which they start their training as medical Researchers or Scientists.
The immediate past Acting Head of the department was Dr. T. M. Salman. His tenure started on 1st August 2018 and ended on 31st August 2019.
The current Head of the Department is Professor B. V. Owoyele. His tenure started on 1st August 2019.


  1. Prof. B.V. Owoyele - Head of Department
  2. Prof. L.A. Olatunji
  3. Prof. L. A. Olayaki
  4. Dr. T.M. Salman
  5. Dr. L.S. Ojulari
  6. Dr. T.O. Ayinde
  7. Dr. Maryam.T. Ayinla
  8. Dr. A.O. Oyabambi
  9. Dr. Hidaayah O. Jimoh-Abdulghaffaar
  10. Dr. A. L. Oyewole
  11. Dr. Aminat.O. Mahmud- Imamfulani
  12. Mr. A. Amin
  13. Mr. W. I. Abdulmajeed
  14. Mr.E, D. Areola


  1. Mrs. Funmilola E. Olawale-Bello
  2. Mr. R. Garba
  3. Mrs. Roseline M. Ayinmode


  1. Mrs Kehinde A. Alayande -Departmental Secretary
  2. Mrs. Bamidele O. Balogun
  3. Mrs. Hannah. Omofe

Upcoming Events

December 4, 2023

Commencement Of 2022/2023 Academic Session