Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences

About Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences

The Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences is one of the fifteen (15) faculties in the University of Ilorin and among the twenty-two (22) approved faculties of Pharmacy in Nigeria. The aim of our programme at the University of Ilorin is to be a foremost School of Pharmacy in Nigeria and globally in the training of pharmacy practitioners and scientists that are able to provide detailed and critical pharmaceutical and related healthcare services to the communities which they will serve. This will improve the quality of healthcare, development and help to meet the pharmaceutical needs of the country and world at large.

The Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences University of Ilorin formally came into existence following the approval of the Senate of the University at its 205th Meeting of 2nd December, 2009. The Faculty had as its mandate, the establishment and running of a five-year undergraduate degree programme that would lead to the award of Bachelor of Pharmacy (B.Pharm) to deserving students. Other mandates include the institution and mounting of postgraduate and non-degree professional courses. In 2016 the National Universities Commission (NUC) and the Pharmacists Council of Nigeria (PCN) approved the establishment of the six (6) year Doctor of Pharmacy (Pharm.D) programme in Nigerian
universities. Thus, the Faculty converted from the B.Pharm degree programme to the Pharm.D, and commenced the training of Pharm.D students from the 2019/2020 academic session.

Presently, there are a total of six (6) academic Departments in the Faculty namely:
o Department of Clinical Pharmacy and Pharmacy Practice
o Department of Pharmacognosy and Drug Development
o Department of Pharmaceutics and Industrial Pharmacy
o Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology
o Department of Pharmaceutical and Medicinal Chemistry
o Department of Pharmaceutical Microbiology and Biotechnology

The Faculty currently runs the Doctor of Pharmacy (Pharm.D) programme. The duration of the Pharm.D degree programme is a minimum of six (6) years and maximum of eight (8) 2years for UTME entrants, and minimum of five (5) years and maximum of seven (7) years for the Direct Entry (DE) candidates. Postgraduate degrees at M.Sc levels are currently being offered in four of the six departments namely: the Departments of Clinical Pharmacy and Pharmacy Practice, Pharmacology and Toxicology, Pharmaceutical and Medicinal Chemistry, and Pharmaceutics and Industrial Pharmacy.

To be admitted into the Faculty, students must fulfil any of the entry requirements below:
a. UTME (JAMB): Candidates applying into the first year (100 level) of the Pharm.D programme of the Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences of the University of Ilorin are required to have credit passes in five (5) subjects which must include English Language, Mathematics, Physics, Chemistry and Biology at the Senior Secondary School Certificate (WASC, NECO or equivalent) at no more than two sittings. This is in addition to meeting the UTME and post UTME cut-off marks of the Faculty and University respectively. b. Direct Entry: Candidates seeking direct entry (200 level) into the programme are required to have
i. Passed Advanced Level GCE, IJMB or its equivalent in Biology, Chemistry and Physics in one sitting with a minimum of 12 points.

ii. A first degree in related biomedical sciences with no less than 2nd class upper. c. Other forms of Entry: Inter-university transfer from other Schools/Faculties of Pharmacy with a minimum CGPA of 3.0 on a 5-point grading system. Such candidates are required to meet other minimum entry requirements for admission into University of Ilorin and the Faculty. Course delivery is carried out through a mix of lectures, laboratory practicals, tutorials, seminars, projects, case studies, assignments, industrial work experience, and directed study. Interactive sessions are often held with students. In the course of its existence and in the drive to improve the quality of its outputs, the Faculty has been able to establish collaborations and liaisons with several stakeholders within and outside the University such as the Central Research Laboratory, the University of Ilorin Teaching Hospitals, pharmaceutical companies and organizations

Important Dates

October 24, 2022

Resumption Of Final Year & Post Graduate Students

December 15, 2022

Commencement Of 2021/2022 Session