Where we come from

The College of Health Sciences started as the Faculty of Health Sciences University of Ilorin in 1977 with the appointment of Professor E.H.O. Parry as the foundation Dean under the Vice- Chancellorship of Professor O.O. Akinkugbe, himself, a distinguished scholar and an eminent Physician.

The first batch of academic staff were assembled, briefed and fully prepared for the new innovative medical program. The first curriculum workshop was held in March, 1978, at New-Bussa and attended by both foundation and prospective staff of twenty-one participants out of which twelve actually joined the faculty.

The administrative structure of the College of Medicine has gone through a number of review stages as a result of the rapid growth in numerical and academic strength of the Faculties.  The present structure was evolved in 1981, slightly reviewed in 1983 and reviewed again in 2004 when the collegiate delegated to various committees. 

Direct Entry Requirements

  1. G.C.E. 'A' Level or its equivalent in Chemistry, Biology or Zoology, Physics or Mathematics, 'O' Level Credits in Physics or Mathematics, whoever not pass at 'A' Level.
  2. Graduate of related discipline of this or other Universities recognized by the Senate may normally be considered. Only candidates with at least second class upper division equivalent are normally considered.

The College philosophy has been summarised as:

  1. Student-Centred: The curriculum is structured to foster and encourage students' learning in the effective way, i.e. student-centred, rather than through traditional didactics teaching. Effective use of educational resource and objectives are made to reflect this by making the students take responsibilities for their own learning. The process is carefully guided by the teachers in the system.


  1. A programme of courses shall be provided leading to the degree of Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery, denoted by the letters MB;BS.
  2. The programme shall normally extend over a minimum period of five or six years, depending on student’s entry qualification as follows:The first year courses shall be called the pre-medical year courses.