Department of Agricultural Economics and Farm Management

About Department of Agricultural Economics and Farm Management

The Department of Agricultural Economics and Farm Management is one of the founding departments in the Faculty of Agriculture when it was established during the 1982/83 academic session. The department has continued to grow in leaps and bounds, currently graduating students from the B. Agriculture, MSc., MPhil, and PhD. programmes.

Agricultural Economics and Farm Management department is a foremost department in the faculty and across the University at large, evidenced in the quality of research and teaching by the members of the department. The high level of excellence found among the staff and students of the departments has made it well sought-after by many intending candidates. Members of the department have stood themselves out as researchers in the University, attracting grants to the University from various International funding agencies. Students of the department continue to benefit from the high academic quality in the department and Faculty at large.

Our vision
Our vision is to raise students with practicable and outstanding skillsets that positions them for leadership and notable involvement towards sustainably addressing issues of food security in an interconnected world

Our mission
Our mission is to exemplify quality education in higher learning in a way that transcends the traditional curriculum in the agricultural economics space towards raising global leaders that are focused on addressing emerging challenges

Past Heads, Department of Agricultural Economics and Farm Management

Dr. J.P. Adeyemi - 1986 – 1988  

Prof. E.T.O. Oyatoye - 1989 – 1991

Prof. P.A. Okuneye - 1991 – 1993

Prof. E.T.O. Oyatoye - 1993 – 1998

Prof. O.A. Omotesho - 1999 – 2008

Dr. M.O. Adewumi - 2008 – 2013

Dr. R.O. Babatunde - 2013 – 2015

Dr. A. Muhammad-Lawal - 2015 – 2017

Dr. O.E. Ayinde - 2017 – 2018

Prof. M.O. Adewumi - 2018 – 2021

Department News & Updates

Upcoming Events

December 4, 2023

Commencement Of 2022/2023 Academic Session