The Faculty of Basic Medical Sciences, University of Ilorin, Ilorin is one of the two Faculties that make up the College of Health Sciences.  The Faculty was established on the 1st April, 2004 when the former Faculty of Health Sciences assumed the collegiate status.  It overseas the activities in the eight departments that make up the Faculty. The departments within this Faculty are as follows:- Anatomy,Physiology, Pharmacology & Therapeutics, Heamatology, Chemical Pathology & Immunology,

Medical Microbiology& Parasitology, Pathology and  Medical Biochemistry. All the departments are responsible for the teaching of basic medical courses to all the students in the College. The Faculty is supported with a laboratory complex which houses all the laboratories in the Faculty.  It is moderately equipped and fairly adequate in terms of space, teaching and learning facilities.  The Anatomy laboratory is equipped with Anatomy Trainer.  The Laboratory Animal House, a unit within the Faculty renders supporting services in the provision of laboratory animals for experimental purposes (Teaching and Research).

The Faculty has recorded tremendous improvement in the areas of increased staff recruitment, promotion, and development, research activities and collaboration, improved student teaching and training.  These achievements it will continually improve upon.

Location: We are located within the premises of the University of Ilorin Teaching Hospital along the State Polytechnic road, about 15 km from Ilorin the capital of Kwara state, north-central Nigeria.

Publications and Research Studies: Faculty members have been fully engaged in several research work since inception. Several publications have been published by members in many academic journal both nationally and internationally.





Dr. O.B Akinola

Chemical path & Immunology

Dr. S.A. Biliaminu


Dr. (Mrs). I.A Durotoye

Medical Biochemistry

Dr. J.O Adebayo

Medical Microbiology & Parasitology

Dr. A. Fadeyi


Prof. E.A.O Afolayan

Pharmacology &Therapeutics

Dr. A. A. Njan


Dr. B.V Owoyele


Dr. K.A Oluseye