Featured News



The Senate of the University at its 205th meeting on the 25th December 2009 approved the establishment of the Faculty of Veterinary Medicine. The Faculty commenced activity in    2010 with the appointment of Professor Abdul-Ganiyu Ambali, a professor of avian and acquatic animal medicine as the pioneer Dean. The Senate also approved the academic curriculum and the creation of seven academic Departments and a Veterinary Teaching Hospital (VTH). The approved Departments were:

  • Department of Veterinary Anatomy
  • Department of Veterinary Medicine
  • Department of Veterinary Microbiology and Parasitology
  • Department of Veterinary Pathology
  • Department of Veterinary Physiology and  Pharmacology
  • Department of Veterinary Public Health and Preventive Medicine
  • Department of Veterinary Surgery and Theriogenology

The University Management allocated part of Block 1 complex to the Faculty as its temporary site in 2010. However, the University agreed in principle to move the Faculty to the proposed permanent site located at the present UniversitySecondary Schoolbefore the commencement of 2012/2013 academic session.  The National University Commission (NUC) also gave approval for the commencement of the DVM programme in 2010 following the visitation of the Commission’s Resource Verification Team. The programme commenced with the recruitment 7 academic staff made up of one Professor, three Senior Lecturers and three Lecturer I, and four staff in the administrative cadre. The Faculty currently has 15 academic staff (4 Professors, 2 Senior Lecturers, 1 Senior Research Fellow, 4 lecturer I, 4 Lecturer II), 3 Registrars in the Veterinary Teaching Hospital, 1 Technologist and 8 administrative staff. In line with the NUC and Veterinary Council of Nigeria guideline on minimum number of Departments expected from the Faculty of Veterinary Medicine which must be ten, the Senate of the Universityof Ilorinat its 230th meeting held on 10th January 2013, approved the establishment of three additional Departments from the existing ones. The Department of Veterinary Microbiology and Parasitology was splitted into Department of Veterinary Microbiology and Department of Veterinary Parasitology and Entomology, respectively while Department of Veterinary Surgery and Radiology, and Department of   Theriogenology and Production, respectively. The Department of Veterinary Physiology and Biochemistry and Department of Veterinary Pharmacology and Toxicology were carved out of the old Department of Veterinary Physiology and Pharmacology.