Department of Social Work

About Department of Social Work

The Department of Social Work, University of Ilorin, Nigeria, was established in the year 2013 with the aim of producing competent and globally competitive graduates who would contribute meaningfully to solving old and emerging personal and social problems in modern times.We started the Department with just three academic staff. Today, the Department comprises of 16 social work educators and social work practitioners who are permanent, Adjunct and Associate Lecturers. The Social Work programmes of the Department are balanced with students' exposure to practicum and field training. B.Sc. Social Work is a four-year (UTME) or three-year (Direct Entry) degree programmewith two placements of field practicum that are carried out after 200 and 300 levels.The curriculum therein is structured in line with the National University Commission’s Minimum Standard Benchmark for Social Work. The curriculum reflects old and new developments in Social Work to enable student social workers stand-out as excellent scholars and practitioners. The Department is made up of competent, selfless and reliable scholars of international repute who have resolved to help shape students’ future. To date, students have shown interest in the Department based on its future prospects. The pioneer Head of Department of Social Work was Dr. (now Prof.) J. O. Fayeye. He headed the Department between 2013 and 2018. The past Head of Department was Dr. A. A. Abdullahi. 2018 and 2020 and the current Head of Department Prof. M.I. Ibiezugbe  2020 till date.

Updated admission requirement

O’ Level Requirement: Candidates seeking admission into the Department of Social Work must possess a minimum of 5 ‘O’ - level credits including English Language and Mathematics and any two social science subjects strictly defined as Geography, Government and Economics plus any other art subjects (Literature In-English, languages, religions, history) in not more than two sittings. This shall include West Africa Examinations Council (WAEC) and its equivalent.In addition to O’ Level Requirement, candidates can be admitted through any of the following:

i. Unified Tertiary Matriculation Examination (UTME): To be eligible for admission through UTME, candidate is expected to pass the UTME and the University screening test. University UTME combination shall include English and at least two other social science subjects (Geography, Economics, Government and Commerce).

ii. Direct Entry (DE): Candidate seeking admission through DE must possess a minimum of 7 points at IJMB level or its equivalent. The Department may also consider: Diploma in Social Work, Diploma in Social Administration, Diploma in Social Welfare, Diploma in Community Work and Community Development and other relevant fields of Social Work areas. Note that the Diploma must be passed at UPPER credit level (i.e. above 60%) from reputable and relevant institutions. Meanwhile, the Department may also consider National Certificate of Education (NCE) in Social Studies and Social Sciences passed at 'B' level and above, first degree in any of the Social Sciences, Art, Law and Registered Nurse Certificate (RN).

iii. Inter-University Transfer Mode: Transfer students from recognised universities are accepted on merit and at the discretion of the host University. Students can transfer into 200- level courses provided they have the relevant qualifications and a minimum of 3.5 CGPA.

Upcoming Events

October 24, 2022

Resumption Of Final Year & Post Graduate Students

December 15, 2022

Commencement Of 2021/2022 Session