Department of Computer Science

About Department of Computer Science

Brief History of the Department

The Department was carved out of the old Mathematics Department in April 2004 under Faculty of Science. The Faculty of Communication and Information Sciences was created in 2008 and the Department was moved to the Faculty. The Curriculum was reviewed in 2014 and the Department has been operating on the reviewed Curriculum. The Department’s Academic staff qualifications have improved; the Department that started with Two (2) Ph.D. holders among other staff, now has Twenty-three (23) members of staff with Ph.D. The Department has grown over the years to academic staff strength of 27 (ONE Professor, FOUR Readers, FIVE Senior Lecturers, TWO Adjunct Senior Lecturers, FOUR Lecturer I, SEVEN Lecturer II and ONE Assistant Lecturer). As a fully established Department, she has been granted FULL National Universities Commission (NUC)  accreditation two consecutive times in 2008 and 2014. In addition, the Department has also been granted FULL Professional accreditation by Computer Professionals Registration Council of Nigeria (CPN) in 2014.

Computer Science Department which runs a four-year programme that offers Bachelor of Science (B.Sc. Hons) in Computer has three technologists and three administrative staff. The Department also offers two postgraduate programmes namely; M.Sc. and Ph.D. in Computer Science.

As a professional department, our mission is:

1. To be committed to the University's mission in the four areas of teaching, learning, research and community services.

2. To educate students in both theory and practice so as to be able to analyze, design, implement, test and evaluate software solution to real world problems including appreciating the value of efficient design created to meet clearly developed requirements.

The Department is committed to improve continually its educational environment in order to develop graduates with strong academic backgrounds needed to achieve distinction in the field of Computer Science.

Philosophy of programme

The Department of Computer Science, University of Ilorin is committed to the University's mission of teaching, learning, research and community development services in the field of Computer Science. It is aimed at producing men and women who are well-trained in all facets of Computer Science with the main purpose of meeting national and international needs in the area of technological advancement. 

1. Train students to be self-reliant in the field of Computer Science.
2. Produce students who are adequately prepared for postgraduate work.
3. Produce computer scientists who can readily impart their knowledge to students at lower levels of education.
4. Develop self-confidence in handling problems associated with information and communication technologies, with minimal or no supervision.
5. Train students to develop confidence in appreciating and solving problems in computer science field.

Specific Objectives
At the end of their programme, students will be able to:
1. Acquire strong theoretical and practical skills in Computer Science in order to work in any IT-driven environment.
2. Understand and apply the underlying principles of Computer Science to a variety of problem domains.
3. Work in groups and appreciate the dynamic and collaborative nature of problem solving.
4. Blend their Computer Science abilities with skills specific to another domain for solving problems in that domain.
5. Embark on lifelong learning for personal and professional growth.

Upcoming Events

October 24, 2022

Resumption Of Final Year & Post Graduate Students

December 15, 2022

Commencement Of 2021/2022 Session