Department of Dentistry

About Department of Dentistry

The department was approved by university senate at her 283th meeting on 14th of February 2020 and acting Head of department was appointed by the Vice Chancellor to kick start the affair of the department. The departmental offices are located at old college building opposite Clinical Skills and Simulation Laboratory.   The Bachelor of Dental Surgery programme will take a minimum of six years with intake through Universities Tertiary Matriculation Examination (UTME) of the Joint Admissions and Matriculation Board (JAMB).

The department operates under the following divisions;

  • Oral Maxillofacial Surgery
  • Oral Pathology and Oral Biology
  • Oral Maxillofacial Radiology and Oral Medicine
  • Preventive and Community Dentistry
  • Child Dental Health and Orthodontics
  • Restorative Dentistry


To produce community-centered, world class Dentists who will competently manage oral diseases at all levels of our health care system in Nigeria and other parts of the world with capability to lead oral health teams and institutions as life-long learners in the relationship between oral health and general health.

To transform the Department to a Dental Faculty of International Repute.

Upcoming Events

December 4, 2023

Commencement Of 2022/2023 Academic Session