The Department was established alongside six (6) other Departments by the approval of the University Senate at its 205th meeting on the 25th December, 2009.  The department commenced activity in 2011 with the appointment of Professor S.O. Salami (then a senior lecturer) as the pioneer Head of Department.  The Department commenced academic work same year teaching Introductory Anatomy and Introductory embryology to the first set of the faculty students in 100 level.

By 2012, in preparation for both National University Commission (NUC) and Veterinary Council Verification and Pre-clinical Accreditation respectively two additional academic staff in person of Dr. Z. Jaji and E.S. Kigir joined the Department.

Now the Department has 3 Academic staff, 1 Technologist and 3 Administrative staff.

The Department is made up of two units the Gross Anatomy and Histology unit.