The philosophy of the programme is the understanding of NATURE through Physics for intellectual and technological development of the society.


The B.Sc. Physics programme in the Faculty of Science, University of Ilorin, was introduced as one of the first set of academic programmes started by the University in 1976-77 sessions. From that time the programme and the Department fostering it have developed considerably in terms of the staff strength, available laboratory space and other physical facilities, student numbers, curriculum and research.

Admission Requirements

UME Entry:

Candidates must obtain at least a credit level pass at S.S.S./G.C.E. ‘O’ Level or approved equivalent at least five subjects which include English Language, Mathematics, Physics,  Chemistry and one other related subject. The passes should be obtained at not more than two sittings.

Direct Entry:

Candidates must possess G.C.E., A/C or equivalent (e.g. N.C.E.) in a minimum of two relevant science subjects (Mathematics and Physics).Four years (or three years for DE)

Four years (or three year for DE) full time study on campus consisting of theory, laboratory practical, workshop practice, individual seminars, individual projects, as well as informal visits to science-based industries in and outside Kwara States.