Pharmacology comes from the Greek word pharmakon, meaning "drug"; and -logia meaning “study”. It is the study of drug action. More specifically, it studies the interactions that occur between a living organism and exogenous chemicals that alter normal biochemical function.

Therapeutics is the branch of Medicine that deals with treatment and cure of diseases.

Haematology programme forms an integral part of the pathology postings which is undertaken at 400L (first clinical year) of the MB;BS programme.
Courses in haematology are taken alongside courses in the other 3 disciplines of the pathological sciences namely:  Chemical Pathology and Immunology, Morbid Anatomy, and Medical Microbiology and Parasitology
By the end of the entire haematology course, the students are expected to demonstrate good knowledge of the theoretical principles of haematology.  They should also be able to perform simple side-room laboratory haematological tests from practical techniques learnt during the course, and be able to interpret haematological results in relation to patents clinical conditions as well as manage simple haematological disorders which are common in the community.

The Physiology department is one of the departments in the Faculty of Basic Medical Sciences.  Physiology was not taught as a separate discipline because of the Faculty philosophy at the inception of the Medical College.  However, following are organization in 1979, Physiology was granted autonomy and is taught as a discipline.

The department curriculum maintained its emphasis in preparing medical students for ensuring a sound foundation for the practice of medicine.