Hits: 4181


  1. A programme of courses shall be provided leading to the degree of Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery, denoted by the letters MB;BS.
  2. The programme shall normally extend over a minimum period of five or six years, depending on student’s entry qualification as follows:The first year courses shall be called the pre-medical year courses.
    • Five years for students admitted with three GCE Advanced Level passes (or equivalent) in Chemistry, Biology (or Zoology) and Physics or Mathematics. In addition, a candidate must have at least Five (5) ‘O’ Level credits in English Language and Physics or Mathematics whichever is not passed at ‘A’ Level.
    • Six years for students admitted with five credit level passes at SSCE or equivalent which must include Mathematics, Physics, Chemistry, Biology and English Language.
  3. The first year courses shall be called the pre-medical year courses.
  4. Students admitted for a six-year degree programme shall normally start with pre-medical year, while those admitted for the five year programme shall start with the 2nd year.
  5. Entry to the 2nd year for the five year programme is limited. Therefore, the possession of minimum qualifications does not necessarily mean acceptance for the courses.
  6. Students may enter other years on the recommendation of the College Academic Board to Senate in accordance with the regulations. Transfers beyond the beginning of the 1st Clinical year (400 Level) shall not normally be allowed. All transfers are subject to fulfilment of College requirement as detailed in the Pre-Clinical curriculum.

Regulations for the Pre-Medical Year

Regulations for the Second and Third Years

Regulations for the Fourth, Fifth and Sixth Years