Hits: 2967

The Faculty of Arts was the first of the three foundation Faculties in the University of Ilorin when it formally took off in October 1975. At inception, the Faculty had four Departments with a population of fifty-five students and sixteen academic staff. These Departments were English (later renamed Modern European Languages with the addition of the French programme),

History, Arabic and Islamic Studies (later expanded and renamed Religions) and Linguistics and Nigerian Languages. A fifth Department, the Performing Arts, was added in the 1981/82 academic session. The splitting of the Department of Religions into Arabic and Religions and the Department of Modern European Languages into English and French was approved by Senate in 2001. Today, the Faculty has seven Departments offering ten programmes with a total student population of over 1,700 and 100 academic staff.

Vision and Objectives
Our vision is to prepare students for life and to make a total person out of each student in the Faculty. The objectives for achieving these goals are: