The Department was founded in 1982/1983 session when the Faculty of Agriculture was established.  The previous Heads of Department are:  Professor M. B. Awolola (1984 – 1994 and 1998 – 2004), Dr. A. A. Adekoya (1994 – 1995), Mrs. A. F. Olatunde (1996 – 1998), Professor O. A. Adekunle (2004 – 2008 and 2010 – 2013), Dr. I. Ogunlade (2008- 2010) and Dr. B. M. Matanmi (2013 to date). 

The Department offers courses in Agricultural Extension and Rural Development at Undergraduates, Masters, M.Phil and Ph.D levels.  The department started the Sasakawa Africa Fund for Extension Education (SAFE) for HND holders in 2011, leading to the award of B.Sc Agricultural Extension and Community Development.  The B.Sc Agricultural Extension and Community Development is a degree programme supported by the Sasakawa Africa Fund for Extension Education (SAFE).  The programme train middle-level extension agents in the ADPS and MANR in Value-chain Agriculture.  The mandate covers the Middle-Belt and Southern zones in Nigeria.  This programme is meant for middle level manpower who wants to upgrade their status to degree level.  It is a three year programme.

The staff strength of the department has grown from three at its inception to twelve Ph.D holders, one assistant lecturer, one technologist and three non-academic staff in the 2013/2014 academic session.

In line with the general philosophies of the Faculty for the Bachelor of Agriculture Programme, the Department will:

  1. Impart on students basic principles and practice of social organization and group behaviour;
  2. Actualize on students the theory and practice of planning, organizing, managing and evaluation of agricultural projects and rural development;
  3. Expose students to the theories and practice of Community Mobilization, Agricultural Extension communication methods, research methodology, participatory research and;
  4. Offer professional advice to governments, private organizations, individuals and farms.