The mission

The mission of the Faculty is to:

(a)        Provide sound basic training in all relevant courses in the field of Agriculture,

(b)        Produce agricultural personnel that have broad-based knowledge and skills for the development of the agricultural sector of the economy,

(c)        Provide consultancy services to the Federal, State, Local Governments and public sectors in the global  community, and

(d)        Prepare students to undertake research work and disseminate findings to the farmers.

The Faculty commenced as a center of scholarship and academic excellence in 1982/1983 with four (4) foundation departments: Agricultural Economics and Farm Management, Agricultural Extension and Rural Development, Animal production and Crop production and over the years, the Faculty has produced many students who are now engaged in different sectors of the economy at both local and international levels.

In 2004, the University Senate approved the splitting of the Department of Crop Production into two: namely Agronomy and Crop Protection. In 2006, the Department of Home Economics and Food Science took off, while in 2010, the Department of Forest Resources Management was established.