Brief History: Introduction

The Faculty of Engineering and Technology started in 1978 with a total of about 51 students, three academic staff, three administrative staff, a messenger/cleaner and a driver.  Initially there were three Departments (Civil Engineering, Electrical Engineering and Mechanical Engineering).  In 1982 the Department of Agricultural Engineering was established, though students were first admitted into the programme during the 1983/84 session.
In 2008/2009 session, the Department of Chemical Engineering was established with an intake of about twenty students at 100 level. The curriculum of Department of Agricultural Engineering was reviewed and its name was changed to Agricultural and Biosystems Engineering during that session.

Professor D.S. Ogunniyi

D.S. Ogunniyi is a Professor in the Department of Chemical Engineering, University of Ilorin and Dean, Faculty of Engineering & Technology.

His areas of research include Polymer Science and Technology, chemical modification of vegetable oils to obtain alkyds and biodiesel oil, and disposal of waste polymers.  He has published widely in local and international journals and also serves as a reviewer for many journals.  Also, Professor Ogunniyi has taught in Universities in Zimbabwe and Lesotho.

He is a member of the Nigerian Society of Engineers and he is registered as an Engineer by the Council for the Regulation of Engineering in Nigeria.

Past Deans:

  1. Professor Y. A. Jimoh
  2. Professor J. A. Olorunmaiye   - 2008 – 2013
  3. Professor B. F. Sule.              - 2005 – 2008
  4. Professor O. A. Adetifa          - 2001 – 2005
  5. Professor K. C. Oni                - 1998 – 2001
  6. Professor F. L. Bello-Ochende -1994 – 1998
  7. Professor J.S.O. Adeniyi         - 1990 – 1994
  8. Professor S. O. Adeyemi        - 1988 – 1990
  9. Professor B. J. Olufeagba       - 1984 – 1988
  10. Professor I. E. Owolabi          - 1980 – 1984
  11. Professor V. O. S. Olunloyo    - 1978 – 1980

Brief History of the Department

The Department of Agricultural Engineering was formally established during the 1982/83 Academic Session with 14 fresh students at 100 Level.

The first two Academic staff were appointed in September 1983.  During the 1983/84 session, Senate approved the curriculum and syllabus for the Department.

The Department was initially housed in the Civil Engineering and Mechanical Engineering Building.  While the staff under-took the planning of the Laboratory and Office Facilities for the new Department.  By September 1, 1988, the Workshop Building was completed and occupied by the departmental staff.

The Department was established in the year 2010 to provide academic training for prospective Engineers who will integrate the emerging principles of modern biology with other basic sciences and engineering to offer solutions for fundamental and applied problems in biology and medicine. The first coordinator of the Department was the late Dr. K. F. T. Olanlokun and was succeeded by Dr. I.K. Adegun. Dr. K.A. Akande was appointed as the first Acting Head of the Department in August, 2012 followed by Dr. J.F. Opadiji in March, 2013. Dr. K.A. Akande was again appointed as the Acting Head of Department in August, 2014.

General Information

Chemical engineering involves the application of basic sciences (mathematics, physics, chemistry and biology) and engineering principles to the development, design, operation and maintenance of processes to convert raw materials or chemicals into more useful or valuable products. These products lead to a sustainable and improved quality of life.

The Department of Chemical Engineering was established in August 2008. Before the establishment, the University of Ilorin has been recruiting Chemical Engineers into the Departments of Chemistry and Mechanical Engineering.