Endowed Chairs


Departmental Philosophies and Objectives.

Department of Agricultural Economics and Farm Management

In line with the general philosophies of the Faculty for the Bachelor of Agriculture programme the Department will:

  1. Expose the students to the principles of Micro and Macro Economics;
  2. Impart the theory and practice of the management of resources and the economics of resource use;
  3. Expose students to the influence of government policies, programmes and projects as well as the international economies on the management of agricultural enterprises for increased profitability.
Department of Agricultural Extension and Rural Development

In line with the general philosophies of the Faculty for the Bachelor of Agriculture Programme, the Department will:

  1. impart on  students basic principles and practice of social organization and group behaviour;
  2. Actualize on students the theory and practice of planning, organizing, managing and evaluation of agricultural projects and rural development;
  3. Expose students to the theories and practice of Community Mobilization, Agricultural Extension communication methods, research methodology, participatory research and
  4. Offer professional advice to governments, private organizations, individuals and farms

Department of Animal Production

In line with the general philosophies of the Faculty for the Bachelor of Agriculture Programme, the Department will:

  1. Impart on students knowledge of basic principles of Animal Nutrition, Breeding, Health, Animal Products and Procession;
  2. Expose students to practical animal keeping and
  3. Look into cheaper and alternative means for animal production with a view to increasing availability of cheap sources of animal protein.
Department of Agronomy

In order to make effective contributions to the achievement of the Faculty philosophies and objectives, the Department will undertake practical training in Crop Breeding: Land Evaluation and Management for optimal Crop Production.

The specific objectives are:

  1. to impart on students the basic principles of crop production and crop breeding;
  2. to organize farm trials of variety of crops for methods and result-oriented demonstration purposes;
  3. to organise farm practical whereby students will manage farm production on their own fields;
  4. to actualize the practice of land evaluation and management; and
  5. To provide professional advice to farmers.

Department of Crop Protection

In order to make effective contributions to the achievement of the Faculty philosophies and objectives, the Department will:

  1. Undertake practical training in various aspects of Crop Protection techniques;
  2. Impart on students the basic principles of Crop Protection through practical demonstration on the field;
  3. Provide professional advice to farmers;
Department of Forest Resources Management

The philosophy of the department is to produce graduates with sound theoretical and practical knowledge in productive and sustainable forestry, forestry products and wildlife resources.

The main objectives of the department include, but not limited to:

i.     Produce graduates with massive entrepreneurship and self-employment capabilities;
ii.    Impart graduates with skills in all areas of forestry and wildlife;
iii.   Produce graduates relevant to industry and society and who can impart positively on National and
       International forestry and wildlife goals.



Faculty Office


Professor  O.A. Omotesho Dean
Dr. J. A. AkangbeSub-Dean
Mr. M. I. AdekeyeSenior Asst. Registrar & Faculty Officer
Mrs. Fola Lawanson-Efunniyi Principal Confidential Secretary I
Mrs. O.K.. OmeizaFaculty Accountant
Miss. S. O. Olatunji Faculty IT Officer
Mrs. A. M. AyorindeSecretariat Asst. II
Mr. Peter SolomonElectrical Supervisor
Mr. Y.K. Lawal Chief Exec. Officer 
Mr. S. AwodiranAssistance Cartographer 
Mr. D. O.AdesinaAssistant Chief Cleatical Officer 
Mr. Dayo AremuTransport Officer
Mr. Julius KomolafeCaretaker
Mr. Augustine Oyigbeche Caretaker


 Brief History

The Faculty of Agriculture, University of Ilorin was established in the 1982/83 session and had its foundation Dean in the 1983/84 session. Presently, the Faculty comprises of seven (7) Academic departments viz:

The Faculty of Agriculture Main Building

It comprises the Dean’s, Sub-Dean’s and Faculty Officer’s offices. Also in the same complex are Departments of Agricultural Extension and Rural Development; Department of Agricultural Economics and Farm Management; Department of Crop Protection; Department of Home Economics and Food Science; and Department of Forest Resource Management.

The Faculty has five degree programmes of five (5) or four (4) or three (3) academic years for the GCE ‘O’ Level and ‘A” Level holders respectively, leading to the award of :

  • Bachelor of Agriculture (B. Agric.) degree with limited specialization in the final year in any of the following options: Agricultural Economics and Farm Management, Agricultural Extension and Rural Development, Agronomy, Animal Production and Crop Protection.
  • B. Sc. Home Economics
  • B. Sc. Food Science
  • B. Forestry and Wildlife.
  • B. Sc.  Agricultural Extension and Community Development

The B. Sc.  Agricultural Extension and Community Development is a degree programme supported  by the Sasakawa Africa Fund for Extension Education(SAFE). The programme is to train  middle-level Extension Agents in the ADPs and MANR in value-addition Agriculture. The mandate covers the middle-belt and southern zones in Nigeria.

At the inception of the Faculty in 1982/83, sixty-seven (67) students were admitted to the 100 level. A total of 283 candiates are admitted to the 100 level in 2012/2013 session. Currently the student population in the Faculty is over 1000. The 100 Level courses are taught jointly with students from the Faculties of Science, Basic Medical Sciences, Clinical Sciences, Engineering and Education. Courses specified are Biology, Chemistry, and any of Physics, Geology, Mathematics or Statistics. To qualify to move into the 200 Level, 100 Level students must pass with at least a CGPA of 1.50.

200 Level – 500 Level courses are taken mainly in Faculty of Agriculture with Agricultural Engineering courses taken in the Faculty of Engineering & Technology; and Statistics in the Faculty of Science. The first batch of students graduated in the 1986/87 Session. The Faculty has graduated more than 2000 students since its establishment.

Only six (6) members of academic staff were on ground at inception of the Faculty. However, the staffing situation has improved tremendously to a total of 77 Faculty staff currently.

Academic Atmosphere

The Faculty maintains high academic standard by counseling students to work hard, ensuring conducive atmosphere for studying, upholding of Faculty Admission and good standing regulations at all times and above all by the enthusiasm and dedication of the teaching, technical and administrative staff.

The policies adopted and practiced by the Faculty in pursuit of academic standards and maintenance of academic atmosphere derives largely from laid down policies of the University. These include encouraging staff/student seminars, attendance at University inaugural lectures and other special lectures and attendance at symposia and learned conferences, which are also hosted, by the Department and Faculty when fund is available.

Annually the Faculty organizes a Faculty Lecture and a Faculty Seminar where students are made to attend.  Each Department also ensure that students attend the  seminar presentations on project by undergraduate final year and postgraduate students. The seminars are organized twice in each semester.