Brief History

The Faculty of Agriculture, University of Ilorin was established in the 1982/83 session and had its foundation Dean in the 1983/84 session. Presently, the Faculty comprises of seven (7) Academic departments viz:

The Faculty of Agriculture Main Building

It comprises the Dean’s, Sub-Dean’s and Faculty Officer’s offices. Also in the same complex are Departments of Agricultural Extension and Rural Development; Department of Agricultural Economics and Farm Management; Department of Crop Protection; Department of Home Economics and Food Science; and Department of Forest Resource Management.

The Faculty has five degree programmes of five (5) or four (4) or three (3) academic years for the GCE ‘O’ Level and ‘A” Level holders respectively, leading to the award of :

  • Bachelor of Agriculture (B. Agric.) degree with limited specialization in the final year in any of the following options: Agricultural Economics and Farm Management, Agricultural Extension and Rural Development, Agronomy, Animal Production and Crop Protection.
  • B. Sc. Home Economics
  • B. Sc. Food Science
  • B. Forestry and Wildlife.
  • B. Sc.  Agricultural Extension and Community Development

The B. Sc.  Agricultural Extension and Community Development is a degree programme supported  by the Sasakawa Africa Fund for Extension Education(SAFE). The programme is to train  middle-level Extension Agents in the ADPs and MANR in value-addition Agriculture. The mandate covers the middle-belt and southern zones in Nigeria.

At the inception of the Faculty in 1982/83, sixty-seven (67) students were admitted to the 100 level. A total of 283 candiates are admitted to the 100 level in 2012/2013 session. Currently the student population in the Faculty is over 1000. The 100 Level courses are taught jointly with students from the Faculties of Science, Basic Medical Sciences, Clinical Sciences, Engineering and Education. Courses specified are Biology, Chemistry, and any of Physics, Geology, Mathematics or Statistics. To qualify to move into the 200 Level, 100 Level students must pass with at least a CGPA of 1.50.

200 Level – 500 Level courses are taken mainly in Faculty of Agriculture with Agricultural Engineering courses taken in the Faculty of Engineering & Technology; and Statistics in the Faculty of Science. The first batch of students graduated in the 1986/87 Session. The Faculty has graduated more than 2000 students since its establishment.

Only six (6) members of academic staff were on ground at inception of the Faculty. However, the staffing situation has improved tremendously to a total of 77 Faculty staff currently.

Academic Atmosphere

The Faculty maintains high academic standard by counseling students to work hard, ensuring conducive atmosphere for studying, upholding of Faculty Admission and good standing regulations at all times and above all by the enthusiasm and dedication of the teaching, technical and administrative staff.

The policies adopted and practiced by the Faculty in pursuit of academic standards and maintenance of academic atmosphere derives largely from laid down policies of the University. These include encouraging staff/student seminars, attendance at University inaugural lectures and other special lectures and attendance at symposia and learned conferences, which are also hosted, by the Department and Faculty when fund is available.

Annually the Faculty organizes a Faculty Lecture and a Faculty Seminar where students are made to attend.  Each Department also ensure that students attend the  seminar presentations on project by undergraduate final year and postgraduate students. The seminars are organized twice in each semester.